It Helps A Little…

It started on the way to work today; something on the radio news program that set me to thinking about the state of the world at large.

And once at work, I run my morning routine; and then, with a bit of luck, I might have a few minutes where I can check a few blogs, maybe even put up a comment; do a few things before my boss arrives.

So I checked up on the story I had just heard on the radio; heard yet another from the desk radio behind me; checked on that one too, and then popped in to the Wakefield Doctrine; an unfortunate sequence of events.

The ” evil clown” seemed to reinforce a thread that I had to admit has been building up in my head for a while; a rant in the making.

The thread’s theme? I am very, very worried about the world that my niece Olivia is growing into. The one that she’s inheriting, and will have to find some way to be a functioning member of. She’s thirteen; it won’t be long now.

I am very worried for her sake. And my particular form of worry is to focus on things that I perceive as being especially and pointlessly insidious. I cannot prevent any of them from potentially harming her, and that in itself  somehow becomes all the more reason to have to focus on them.

The clown did not help.

Steel Panther helped even less; just knowing that the bastard spawn of Poison’s road crew? and some faceless groupies could possibly intrude on Olivia’s worldview is more than I could stand. Let’s provide those millions of hopelessly impressionable boys with yet another graphic example of how to victimize females. This is not rock and roll, it’s Rape 101.  I’d rather skewer the bastards on the point of an Enfield bayonet. And the clown. Enfields need love, too.

The two news items that began all this?

A video clip of a guy in LA, standing in an intersection and randomly shooting at anything.

Juliette Dunne and Lisa Jefferson. Sitting in a park in Bridgeport, Conn.; police found them force-feeding beer to Juliette’s children, ages 4 years and…10 months. The boy told police that he had to drink beer every day, and preferred Natural Ice over “the dogbite beer.” Both children tested positive for alchohol, and the baby also tested positive for cocaine.

2 Broke Girls. This is a CBS sitcom that airs at 8 pm. I have taken lately to seeing how long it takes the writers to insert a dirty joke into the dialogue. They started off with one truly objectionable joke per episode, but have quickly sped things up. Last night, they got a joke in about a threesome in under 10 seconds, followed by a line about batteries for dildoes by 20 seconds in. That must be some sort of record. This is not late-night cable; it’s prime-time network, and there are millions of innocent kids being exposed to this overtly graphic stuff. And that’s just one example.

  They will be slowly and irrevocably affected over time. Innocence can only be destroyed once. Olivia will invariably be touched by this and all the other offerings like it, the programs, rap videos,  Rihanna ( being beaten by her boyfriend…no, not the famous one, I mean the guy in her last video. ) Of all people…and why aren’t there any advocates for women anymore? Politically incorrect? Why isn’t anyone outraged? Why don’t they even notice?

 It seems that everything in popular culture these days is designed to undermine and destroy any semblance of innocence. Kids don’t have the slightest chance of escaping.

Mexican drug cartels. An interesting statistic; so far, 35,000 people have died in the drug wars. 1,000 of them have been children. Apparently, when one cartel attacks another, they’ve taken to killing  any children that they find at home if the prime target is not available. And the guns used are mostly from the U.S.; private-sector suppliers.

And speaking of private- sectors; if Newt Gingrich somehow manages to get into the White House, I swear I’ll head for Canada. I haven’t a very high opinion of politicians generally, but this revoltingly criminal slimeball may well be the only guy the Republicans have left standing. Whenever he’s questioned about any of  his dealings, he replies that” that happened when I was in the private sector.”

What I want for Christmas. I want to be Bob Newhart. In the office of the inn in Vermont. My spouse is tending the front counter, and Olivia is taking breakfast orders in the dining room. Life is sane, well-ordered, and safe. Humor is low-key and very tasteful. My comic timing is impeccable, and I just love it when the phone rings. Olivia dates a pleasant young man from nearby, and he’s quite respectful.

 It may be because he’s seen the Enfield in the corner behind Bob’s desk. And the clown mask hanging on the point of the bayonet. 

Thank you for listening. I can’t do anything about any of these things, but I always feel more grounded after I’ve released some angst. And I suppose that socks and underwear will once again suffice in lieu of an inn in Vermont.

Published in: on December 14, 2011 at 8:19 pm  Comments (18)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://rogercoyne.wordpress.com/2011/12/14/it-helps-a-little/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for leaving the light on. It helped especially since I can barely keep my eyes open.
    Simple is better…..no, you can not do anything about the horrible “things”. But there are knobs that turn off tvs and computers and the like. And believe it or not, there are parents who do the difficult task of actually “parenting”. Hopefully, you can take comfort that Olivia’s parents have raised her such that she has the ability to deal with all that she faces and if they are not available, the wherewithall(?) to seek out adults such as yourself to assist her with the more difficult, seemingly non-navigatable (am I making up words tonight?lol).
    You are welcome. This is, after all, your blog:) Now go put on the slippersocks and grab a big old blanket and sit over here by the fire…it’ll be alright.
    Every generation thinks the next is mankind’s downfall for sure. And yet, here we are.

  2. Non-navigatable? A fine word. Impromptu creation of the necessary term.
    Slipper socks and blankets…should be issued to everyone by the government. Maybe if Obama stays in, the Republicans would never go for it.
    And…Olivia’s parents. The actual heart of the matter. In WD terms, two scotts. Rabid scotts. Controlling, manipulative, violent. Olivia is the youngest, and the last one at home ( of 4 sisters.)
    Maybe we could put a bug in the Progenitor’s ear to address some of the harder issues; like when personality types go completely toxic.

  3. Then you, my friend, are the heart of her matter. Be steady, consistent and available and trust in Olivia. Trust that your continued presence in her life has given her a rudder by which to steer. Having said that, she is only 13. No matter societal conditions, that age (until 17 or 18 at least) is, shall we say, challenging. You are in for a ride so you might as well buckle up, make sure you have extra blankets (and maybe an extra pair of the slipper things).
    As to addressing the more difficult issues when “personality types go completely toxic” I think you would be best at placing the said insect in the Progenitor’s ear. In fact, it would be helpful in general to open thiat discussion.

  4. Hey! I never make spelling errors. I must take issue with the comment leaving – don’t know if it is something I have done or if the problem is with your blog stuff. Here’s the situation: When I have written about a paragraph’s worth of words I run into the part that contains my gravatar thingy and my name, address etc. I must type through them blindly, without benefit of seeing my typed words. Since I cannot see my words after a certain point, it makes corrections, changes etc rather difficult. As way of example, I have approx. 1 more sentence before my words are “hidden”. Good idea – the discussion you propose. New readers of the Doctrine would find it beneficial. Do this thing. Have to go now becuase I have no idea what this will look like once I hit the post comment button!

  5. See dammit! Did it again!!

  6. here is the answer, real simple, courtesy of your local branch of the Wakefield Doctrine ( http://www.wakefielddoctrine.com )…

    (well maybe not totally simple)

    “… I want to be Bob Newhart ”

    What 2 things have you never seen Bob do (on his show ‘Newhart’?

    a) watch the news on TV (I don’t believe they had a TV)
    b) discuss, brood, agonize,revile and rant against the world that, in theory, lay beyond the doors of the Waybury Inn

    The answer is simple. Do not expose yourself to the constant barrage of imflamatory, sensationalistic, ‘get-the-ups-all-scared’ news and information shows.
    Just stop.

    Maybe if you present to your niece the example of a person who can exist in this admittedly chaotic and insane world with a calm and un-stimulated perspective, then she will have a view and perspective on the world that is head and shoulders above the herd.

    And no, this is not overly simplistic.
    The fact is, the world *is* a crazy hostile place filled with people who are driven by instinct (or other demons) or are driven by a culture that would have everyone convinced that the world is such an evil, dangerous and scary place that the only thing to do is stay wired in… fuck that

    step back… the world has always been hostile ( to children, young girls, older boys and everyone else ) the only difference is the degree to which the popluation is subject to the fear mongerers… hell, if you had been born in 1300 your niece would be the mother of 7 children, have a husband whose name she can’t write cause she would be illiterate and (if you didn’t die by the age of 23) you could have sat by the fire and told the children scary stories about the trolls and witches that live on the other side of the hill,

  7. Have to say I agree with this last comment. Pretty much stated what I was trying to express but without the “baby coating”.
    This is your challenge. And your opportunity.

  8. …hate to get all Henry Thoreau ( or was that George Thorogood?) but as to the Doctrine and people… ‘the Doctrine is for you, it is not for them’

    There are no practical applications inherent in the Wakefield Doctrine, at least when it comes to changing or altering other people’s behavior. In this matter, the Doctrine is the *least* of all personality theories…but where it matters it is the greatest.
    Unfortunately we all look for tools when the need is greatest and for we humans when the need is greatest we are least in a mood to take the correct approach, the path with heart (to borrow from our friend Juan)… I could go on at length but you know what it is to do…

    …”Here’s what you gotta do –
    Pick up the phone
    I’m always home”

    lol damn clark to 1980’s ! put down the phone and return to the planet.

  9. The World According To Angus. Is there anything that can’t be fixed with a double Marshall stack and a piece of wood with a humbucker on it?

  10. if there is, it is probably more trouble than it is worth…

  11. This is a test. Hope you don’t mind:)
    I have a profile pic for Girlie that shows up at AKH’s house but nowhere else and I can log in and have my FB pic show as well but not anywhere else.
    Damned technology! It is so simple but not!!!!

  12. Again. Let’s try it again. I don’t get this thumbnail pic thing. I am tired of the clark calling me anonymous! LOL
    If this works from FB then why not for Girlie from WP?

  13. this is just a test…

  14. test??! did she sayTEST!!?! but..but I didn’t study…I thought it was next week??! what the hell is going on her…..

    …wait a minute this is a trick, some scottian/rogerian damn trick

    well…I am not falling for it!

    Nice try, bitches

  15. “…motherfuck you binyon friend. We of the University majors in Los Angeles, California, who had a Harvard University Deans come to teach us, will not have you goddman bitch kidnapping us…..”

  16. Merry Christmas Bud!

  17. “…stickin us with needles”

  18. Ironic that this,the most recent post,is where I tell you I discovered why Girlie’s image does not display. Your blog has a G rating!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

