Thanks, WordPress!…

I was just re-reading a few of my recent posts, and realizing why it seems so very unlikely that too many readers would ever leave a comment. Comments are appreciated because they help to validate the writer; we have made contact with the aliens, and they are glad to see us. What a relief!

That’s one of my biggest problems right there. I can barely resist the urge to slide in a cryptic reference or two, and very often, a post will take on a life of its own based on that; and gleefully change direction completely. I seldom seem to ever make the point that I originally had in mind.

But it’s an awful lot of fun anyway, at the end of the day, and I would certainly recommend this sort of thing to anyone who’s ever been enticed by the notion of writing. Just throw some stuff at the wall, and see what sticks. It’s a terrific form of therapy. Oh, the places you’ll go…

See? A more seasoned and mature writer would have left that out…there just was no need for that. None whatsoever.

I’ve also taken note recently that the more successful mainstream blogs are very specific in their content. They’re about THE NEWS, or about POETRY, or about POPULAR MUSIC. That only stands to reason, but it seems that if you don’t loudly proclaim yourself as a SERIOUS WRITER somehow, then you haven’t much chance of gaining an audience. ( I have apparently discovered the ‘shift’ key. I will refrain from overuse.)

So the world seems to care not about my two treasured old brown coffee cups, each of which flew off the roof of my car. That post was fun to write; you start off with coffee cups, and end up having a disturbing conversation with St. Peter about your chances of getting into heaven. You can’t make this stuff up.

Actually, you can, and you should. It’s marvelous fun, and we should offer many thanks to WordPress, who literally makes all this happen. Aspiring puddle writers the world over all get a chance to get their feet wet, and some pretty damned good material comes about as a result. One needs to conquer one’s fear of the ‘ publish’ button…

So I’ll keep at it…and many thousands of others will, too. I’ll read yours, and you’ll read mine;  but I’m not sure how we might ever find one another in this gigantic blogoshpere.

But this is for sure…if I read yours, I’m almost certain to leave a comment…

 

 

Published in: on August 27, 2012 at 6:53 pm  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rogercoyne.wordpress.com/2012/08/27/thanks-wordpress/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Er – I’m new to all this lark. Been at it five weeks – oh, today. Hooray! Happy Blog Day to me. Anyway, where was I – oh, yes – have to say my posts drift about all over the place as a rule. I blog on writing, mostly, but not exclusively.
    Your blog stats look OK – 7,750 hits. Good grief. Nothing wrong with that.
    Anyway, as I was saying, I write some actual fiction, the odd poem, the odd rant. There is usually a passing reference to writing or tips on it at least, but I think the reason people come and see me and comment is because I am so nosy. I pop about all over the place and chat in other people’s gardens so they come and play with me.
    Pop in to my place – I have a lovely summer house – and visit a few of my lovely blogs I follow and you’ll see.

    • Hi Pat. Thanks for responding. I liked your ‘ clean death’ piece very much, and will come back and peruse further.
      A spectacular backdrop on your photo!

      • You are welcome.
        Thank you for stopping by – and the photo? The Lake District, Cumbria in April. Lovely isn’t it?

  2. Hey it looks like you have one normal person liking your damn Post!!
    As long as they don’t realize who you are… or your connection to that bunch over at the Wakefield Doctrine ( http://www.wakefielddoctrine.com )

  3. “one normal person”… What does that mean?! LOL
    You have no excuse, you being a roger and all. Ya got to get jiggy with the internet and tech jargon! Oh and that social media stuff. ‘Swhat I hear anyway.

  4. Well since no one reads this stuff anyway, I think I’ll go Scott on their monkey asses. Speaking of social media…see that cluster map over there? They’re all fuckers. As in mother, father, monkeys, dogs and cats, everybody. One red dot, one fucker. Yellow dot, two fuckers.
    Hey…I kind of feel better now…

  5. “…on the ‘morrow in Pasadena”*
    * just occurred to me, maybe the Lady was a Shakespearean scholar! that business about the morrow

    Luckily we have the damn internet! So I did a little lookup:
    Juliet:
    ‘Tis almost morning, I would have thee gone—
    And yet no farther than a wan-ton’s bird,
    That lets it hop a little from his hand,
    Like a poor prisoner in his twisted gyves,
    And with a silken thread plucks it back again,
    So loving-jealous of his liberty.

    Romeo:
    I would I were thy bird.

    Juliet:
    Sweet, so would I,
    Yet I should kill thee with much cherishing.
    Good night, good night! Parting is such sweet sorrow,
    That I shall say good night till it be morrow. [Exit above]

  6. Well that’s just so…civilized. I guess I’m not that much of a scott after all. When I went to chase the red ball into the street, I stopped and looked both ways.

  7. Just checkin’ in and checkin’ up:)


Leave a Reply

