I am… Number Six…

Well, that’s a nice surprise. Thanks for the invite. Not entirely sure of how all this works, but…having slowly morphed into a horrifically boring 2-dimensional creature, it might be difficult to find five of …anything.

Five Passions-

– Trying to do whatever I’m doing or involved in to my best capacity…so I guess that means being passionate about being passionate. These would include music, history, gardening ( after a fashion ), reading/ writing/ trying to write (after a fashion) spiritual awareness ( after yet another fashion )

Before I die-

-Just once…to be able to get through Isaac Albinez’ Leyenda without dropping the ball. I’ve been trying for 33 years, and it ‘s just not going well. It has never gone well. But ever the optimist…

– Must have; a long conversation with my niece Olivia. I will simply refuse to depart this plane of existence without assurance of her safety and security.

– To somehow find a way to forgive Olivia’s mother her shortcomings. This would involve being a much more advanced spiritual entity. Very difficult.

– That’s all I’ve got right now. But not bad for a 2D guy.

Five sayings-

-#%@ *!# !

– Where are my glasses?

– Do you like scallions?

– Not in this lifetime

– No, really…Bach and Julie Andrews!

Five books- ( most recent)

– Fort Pillow ( Harry Turtledove )

– The Surgeon’s Mate ( Patrick O’Brian )

– Portrait of a Killer ( Patricia Cornwall )

– Sixkill ( Robert Parker )

– Talk to the Hand ( Lynn Truss )

Five Movies-

I list these according to how often I’ve re-seen them;

Glory- probably over a hundred or so, since 1989. Denzel, Matthew, Morgan, and Cary in their early days.

Gettysburg- when the mood requires. Jeff Daniels as Col. Chamberlain. Well done.

Dances with Wolves. I’ll usually stop to watch a bit of this.

Russel Crowe, generally.

Daniel Day Lewis, generally.

Johny Depp, generally.

Monk ( does tv stuff count? )

Five travel spots;

– Ireland ( Partry, Co. Mayo-where we came from- they have two pubs and a gas station! )

– Spain ( the Segovia tour )

– New Mexico/ Colorado; would love to check in with Boulder and Albuquerque again ( and Leadville, too )

– New Orleans ( food and music )

– London ( The Tower, and all the cheesy tourist stuff )

Well, there it is. That turned out to be more fun than I thought. Thanks again!

Published in: on July 28, 2013 at 12:18 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rogercoyne.wordpress.com/2013/07/28/i-am-number-six/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Let’s try this again.
    ….so that wasn’t so bad was it:)
    If ya had the FB, you would have seen the pic I posted a coupla weeks ago – me in London (in 1995). The Tower was cool! And so was all the other cheesy stuff. lol
    I also was lucky enough to pass through several towns in Ireland pretty much as you’ve described.
    Just think. You can have this kind of fun all the time =D

  2. Leyanda! Aw man, I had forgotten about that piece…don’t give up. Maybe a little time away. You know what they say, absence makes the heart grow fonder:)

    • I won’t give up, but I keep hearing it on a tv commercial for queso fresco. Maybe if I ate that cheese…but really haven’t done much classical lately. I just put a vibrato tailpiece on my hollowbody, so I sit around and play wobbly major seventh chords and pretend I’m Freddie Green. How are the bass studies going?

      • You are not a number…you are a free man….
        Commercial?! Commercial?! No classical? Speaking of, I opened a box not opened in many a year. It had among other things, a bunch of my classical guitar books and a mysterious gray bag. Upon opening said bag, I found one of those school folders – CCRI 1964! The music inside I’m guessing to be yours (along with a postcard from 1986). There were 4 additional classical music books. Remind me to bring them when we have lunch:)
        I’m not sure about the tailpiece and such but I’ll bone up on my Freddie. You should post a pic of this hollowbody of which you speak. Lessons go slowly. Because of me. Not an everyday thing like I would like them to be. But today I practiced the 2nd, 3rd & 4th pentatonic scales. A little. I’m in way too much of a hurry. I tell myself if I can reach a secure, stable timeline, I can focus better and maybe have a little more fun with it.


Leave a Reply

