Scary Music…

Well, hi there.

I’ve been away for quite some time, and I’ve certainly missed this place. Had to go off and be a grownup for an extended period, but now there should be a little more time to relax and release that breath that I’d been holding in for a year or so.

Thank you for stopping by.

I have just finished perusing a  blogpost written by Considerer, in which she ponders the notion of Scary Music.  With several responses from readers, they discuss the notion of a world devoid of music altogether; truly the worst scenario imaginable. I liked that approach to the subject very much.

But it also reminded me of this.

When I was much younger,  there was a particular album released in 1970 that actually set the stage for all the dark, Gothic metal to follow;  Black Sabbath.61CM5D7qviL__SL110_

It was truly the first of its kind, and contrasted dramatically with everything else that was current or popular at the time. It was not pop or top-40 oriented, or blues-based, psychedelic, or rock-and-roll-ish. It was a brand new thing, and not particularly well received at the time.

I’ve never been  all that much of a Sabbath fan as time has gone by, but in looking back, I have to say that this was one huge milestone of an album. I’ve also never thought that Ozzy was a particularly talented vocalist; but much more importantly, he has a very distinctive voice. As all widely known singers must. If Bob Dylan worked as a telemarketer, you’d still know it was Bob Dylan. You might not buy the product because who can understand Bob at all these days, but you know it’s either a time-share in Nicaragua or a John Deere riding mower. Just keep making the payments and enjoying telling the story.

Ozzy sounds on this album as if he were genuinely terrified to be singing those songs. The band sounds very edgy and nervous, as if they wanted to just finish it and get the hell out of the studio. But regardless of circumstance, they managed to forge a completely new thing under the sun. A massive accomplishment.

I remember having borrowed this record  from someone or other, and listening to it in my bedroom. Completely unprepared, I was so affected at the time that not only did I not want to hear it again, I didn’t even want to go back into the room that it had ever played in. I had to go downstairs and hang out with my parents, who had no idea that the gates of Hell had just recently opened up at the top of the stairs.  And where in the  world was I to sleep, now that my bedroom had suddenly become a portal into Dante’s Inferno? And could the denizens of the Seventh Ring hear ” Mary Tyler Moore” playing on TV in the living room?

Of course, like all males of my generation, I would have bravely sacrificed myself to protect Mary from Hell’s minions…actually, the minions would have run right  smack into my mother, so that would not have been an issue. God help the minion who managed to tick Mom off. They likely would have quickly reconsidered, grabbed the Sabbath album, and slammed the portal door shut behind them.

Well…for my sake, I somehow managed to find a way to co-exist with the forces of darkness. ( Haven’t you just heard that before??)

And several years later, I started working in different bands with Don and Ed, the now legendary rythym section. And at a rehearsal one night, we all  sheepishly recounted how scared we all were of the first Sabbath album. That was quite a revelation, relieving much pent-up guilt and embarassment ( Ok …fine…just embarassment… ) And that we were still scared…just a little.

And, now, years after that…still scared. But just a little.

Published in: on October 29, 2013 at 7:44 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rogercoyne.wordpress.com/2013/10/29/scary-music/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

